Free · open · sourced reference
DHM Dose Transparency Index
Most hangover and recovery supplements are built around the same ingredient — DHM (dihydromyricetin). This index documents one thing, and one thing only: what each brand's label actually discloses about its DHM dose. It grades label transparency, not effectiveness.
What this measures — and what it doesn't. This page rates whether a product tells you how much DHM you're getting. It makes no claim about whether any product works, ours included — the human evidence for hangover supplements is thin across the whole category. Every figure is read from the brand's own published Supplement Facts and linked to its source, so you can check any row yourself.
The index
10 products, ordered by disclosure quality (fully disclosed first). Click any column heading to re-sort. "Label image" means the milligram figure was read from a Supplement Facts image rather than selectable text; "third-party" means the figure isn't on the brand's own site. Prices are direct-to-consumer and change — volatile ones are shown as a range.
| Brand · Product | Format | Disclosure | DHM per serving (per label) | Serving | Price / serving | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hovenia | capsule | ✅ Yes — as a discrete mg figure | 1,000 mg Our own product — listed by the same criteria as every other row. | 1 serving ([FORMAT-PENDING] capsule count) · ~30 / bottle | $29.99 · ~$1.00 | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
| No Days Wasted — DHM Detox | capsule | ✅ Yes — as a discrete mg figure | 1,000 mg DHM itemized on an open label (not a proprietary blend). Per-ingredient mg read from the label image. label image | 2 capsules · 15 / bottle | $46 · ~$3.06 | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
| LiQure — Gummies for Drinking | gummy | ✅ Yes — as a discrete mg figure | 350 mg (per 3-gummy serving) Every active is quantified — no proprietary blend — but the mg figures appear only in the Supplement Facts image, not in page text, and no standardization % is given for the vine-tea source. Price per serving varies by pack size. Note: the brand's Science page says "one gummy" while the label and product page specify a 3-gummy serving. label image | 3 gummies · 12–48 / pack | $24.99–59.99 · ~$1.25–2.08 | 2026-08-06 | source ↗ |
| Nutricost — Dihydromyricetin | capsule | ✅ Yes — as a discrete mg figure | 350 mg Marketed as a general-wellness DHM supplement (makes no hangover claims) — listed as a pure-DHM benchmark. mg read from the label image; corroborated across retail listings. label image | 1 capsule · 90 / bottle | $17.97 · ~$0.20 | 2026-08-06 | source ↗ |
| Double Wood — Dihydromyricetin | capsule | ✅ Yes — as a discrete mg figure | 300 mg Single-ingredient. mg read from the label image. 90-count works out to ~$0.28/serving. label image | 1 capsule · 30 or 90 / bottle | $14.95 · ~$0.50 | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
| UNDO — Gummies | gummy | ✅ Yes — as a discrete mg figure | 300 mg (per 2-gummy serving) Discloses 300 mg DHM + 100 mg milk thistle; ~7 g sugar per serving. An older reseller panel showed 150 mg, so the formula has changed — mg read from the current label image. label image | 2 gummies · varies (e.g. 15-pack) | $57 / 15-pack · ~$3.80 | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
| Cheers — Restore | capsule | ⚠️ Partial — extract + %, not a discrete DHM number | 1,200 mg vine-tea extract @ 98% DHM (≈1,176 mg DHM, computed — not stated discretely) Open-label (no proprietary blend), but DHM is given as an extract weight + %, not a discrete figure. DTC price observed to swing between $35 and $50. mg read from the label image. label image | 3 capsules · 12 / bottle | $35–50 · ~$2.92–4.17 (varies) | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
| Toniiq — Ease 50:1 | capsule | ❌ No — extract weight only, no standardization % | Not determinable — label lists "Dihydromyricetin — Ampelopsis grossedentata (leaf) extract — 300 mg" (an extract weight) with no standardization %, so the actual DHM content is not stated Looks transparent — named ingredient, clean mg, no proprietary blend — but the 300 mg is extract weight, not DHM. The label's own convention indents active constituents (reishi → polysaccharides; milk thistle → silymarin) and the DHM row has no such sub-line; the brand's Certificate of Analysis verifies "Vine Tea Extract 300 mg" by input with no DHM assay. Third-party sites citing "300 mg DHM" or "98% pure DHM" for this product are not supported by the brand's own documents. Suggested use is 3 capsules before and 3 after, i.e. 2 servings per occasion. label image | 3 capsules · 40 / bottle | $24.97 · ~$0.62 | 2026-08-06 | source ↗ |
| More Labs — Morning Recovery | shot | ❌ No — inside a proprietary blend | Not disclosed — inside a proprietary "More Labs Blend" (1.25 g), labeled only as "Min. 35% DHM" of an unstated amount Liquid shot. DHM sits inside a proprietary blend; the label gives only "Min. 35% DHM" of an unstated Hovenia-dulcis fraction. Blend total read from the label image. label image | 3.4 fl oz shot · single-serve | $36 / 6-pack · ~$6.00 | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
| Flyby — Recovery | capsule | ❌ No — undisclosed | Not disclosed — the brand calls the amount "top secret" and publishes no Supplement Facts panel Brand publishes no Supplement Facts panel; its FAQ states the DHM amount is proprietary ("top secret"). A 1,551 mg proprietary-blend total appears only in third-party reviews, not on the brand site. | 2 capsules · 20+ / bottle | $19.97 · ~$2.00 | 2026-08-01 | source ↗ |
Want the buying comparison instead of the raw data? See Best Hangover Pills, which ranks the pill products head-to-head using these same figures.
Quarantined entries
These products are held out of the main index and excluded from its count, because they fail our sourcing bar in a way we'd rather show than hide — typically the product is discontinued on the brand's own store, or the only available label is a third-party retail listing rather than the brand's own. They're kept here for reference, clearly separated, so the main table stays a clean picture of what you can currently buy and verify at the source.
| Brand · Product | Format | Disclosure | DHM per serving (per label) | Price / serving | Why quarantined | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AfterDrink (now omre) — Restore Pills | capsule | ⚠️ Partial — extract + %, not a discrete DHM number | 350 mg Ampelopsis grossedentata extract @ 98% DHM (≈343 mg DHM, computed — not stated discretely) DISCONTINUED on the brand's own store — afterdrink.com now redirects to omre.co and the product page returns 404, so the label and price here are read from the Amazon listing (third-party), not the brand's site. Every ingredient carries a discrete amount (not a proprietary blend), but DHM itself appears only as a standardized extract. Suggested use is 3 capsules before and 3 after, i.e. 2 servings per occasion. Note: an archived 2019 brand page listed "Dihydromyricetin 300 mg" as a discrete figure — that was a superseded formula and does not describe the current product. label image third-party | $34.97 · ~$2.19 | Discontinued on the brand's own store (product page 404s) and sourced entirely from a third-party retail listing. | source ↗ |
Methodology
The grade in the Disclosure column is mechanical — it depends only on what the label prints, never on our judgement of a product:
- Fully disclosed (discrete mg) — the Supplement Facts panel states a plain DHM milligram figure per serving (e.g. "Dihydromyricetin 1,000 mg").
- Partially disclosed (extract + %) — the panel gives an extract weight and a DHM standardization percentage (e.g. "1,200 mg vine-tea extract, 98% DHM") but not a plain DHM figure. You can compute it, but the number isn't printed.
- Not disclosed — extract weight only — the panel lists a milligram figure under the DHM name, but that number is the extract weight and no standardization percentage is given, so the actual DHM content can't be determined. This is the easiest tier to mistake for a real dose: it looks like a clean number on a clean label. Where a brand's own Certificate of Analysis confirms the figure is formulation input rather than an assayed DHM amount, we note it in the row. If you want the plain-English version of this trap, we wrote one: what "extract weight" actually means on a supplement label.
- Not disclosed — proprietary blend — DHM sits inside a blend whose total is given but whose individual DHM amount is not.
- Not disclosed — none published — no DHM amount is given at all, and often no Supplement Facts panel is published.
"Disclosed" means the amount is printed on the brand's own published label or product page — not inferred, not taken from marketing copy, and not our estimate. Where a figure is only available from a third-party retailer, or the product has been discontinued on the brand's own store, the row is moved to Quarantined entries below and excluded from the main index count rather than being listed alongside verifiable products. Where a milligram was read from a label image rather than selectable text, it's flagged "label image." We re-verify every source URL quarterly (see the changelog for the history), and re-check sooner if a brand reformulates.
Found an error, or a brand we're missing? Email hello@hovenia.ca with the product and its Supplement Facts source, and we'll verify and update. Corrections are welcome from brands and readers alike.
Cite this index
This index is free to use and reproduce with attribution (CC BY 4.0). Journalists and writers: you're explicitly welcome to reproduce the table, in whole or in part, as long as you credit and link it.
Canonical URL: https://blog.hovenia.ca/dhm-dose-transparency-index
Suggested citation:
Hovenia. "DHM Dose Transparency Index." Last updated 2026-08-06. https://blog.hovenia.ca/dhm-dose-transparency-index
Changelog
A dated record of every change to the data behind this index. This is what makes it worth re-citing over time.
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
| 2026-08-06 | Introduced quarantined entries — products held out of the main index and its count because they fail the sourcing bar (discontinued on the brand's own store, or label available only from a third-party listing). AfterDrink is the first, moved out of the main table into its own clearly-separated section. |
| 2026-08-06 | Added AfterDrink (now omre) as an extract + % entry, flagged third-party: the brand's own product page now returns 404 and the product appears discontinued on its store, so its label and price are sourced from its Amazon listing. Pending-brand queue is now clear. |
| 2026-08-06 | Added LiQure (gummy, 350 mg discrete) and Toniiq Ease. Introduced a new 'extract weight only' disclosure tier: Toniiq's label lists 300 mg under the DHM name but gives no standardization %, and its own Certificate of Analysis verifies that figure 'by input' with no DHM assay — so the actual DHM content is not determinable from the label. Widely-circulated third-party claims of '300 mg DHM' and '98% pure DHM' for that product are not supported by the brand's own documents. |
| 2026-08-06 | Added Nutricost (pure-DHM benchmark, 350 mg discrete). Research on LiQure, Toniiq and AfterDrink is pending — they will be added once verified from their own labels. |
| 2026-08-02 | Restructured the registry into typed fields and published the DHM Dose Transparency Index; added the UNDO gummy row. |
| 2026-08-01 | Corrected Cheers price to a $35–50 range (observed volatility), fixed the More Labs blend attribution, and removed the brand-attributed Flyby blend figure (third-party only). |
| 2026-08-01 | Initial verified snapshot — six capsule/shot brands read from live Supplement Facts panels. |
This index rates label transparency only and is not medical advice or an efficacy claim about any product, including our own. Hovenia is a liver-health supplement company; our product supports healthy liver function and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA or Health Canada.
Be first to try Hovenia
1,000mg DHM, single ingredient. Join the waitlist for early access and launch pricing — no spam.
You're on the list. We'll email you before anyone else.